Hits: 3804

As expected, Larry Sherwin handed in his notice of resignation dated December 7 and effective December 12. At the Council meeting tonight, Council then established the process to replace him within 60 days as required by law.  They will be going with the process laid down in a bylaw/policy which was established just after Theresa Rickerby resigned (see links below). The “Striking Committee” consisting of Mayor Brocanier, Deputy Mayor Henderson and Councillor Darling ) had several options but selected Option 3 in the staff report.  This states that Council “Choose to appoint an Eligible Elector to fill the vacancy through an established formal process “.


So sometime after Jan 18 we’ll know who the Candidates are and on January 23 we’ll know who was chosen.  Let’s hope that Councillors choose on merit and not on “who they know”.  At least the process is open and transparent.


Download Policy
Council Vacancy – New By-Law  (Post on Cobourg Internet)